Book Awards

Alex Awards


Named after Margaret Alexander Edwards, a young adult specialist at the Enoch Pratt Library in Baltimore, the Alex Awards are given to ten books that, while written for adults, have a special appeal for young adults between the ages of 12 and 18.


Caldecott Medal


The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of 19th century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 


Coretta Scott King Book Award


The Coretta Scott King Book Award is given to African American authors and illustrators for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions.  Designed to honor both the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and Mrs. Coretta Scott King, the award titles also promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society.

John Newberry Medal


Given by the Association for Library Service to Children, the John Newbery Medal is awarded to the author of the most distinguishing contribution to American chidlren's literature.  John Newbery was an 18th century English publisher of juvenile books.

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award


Named after famed author of the Little House series, the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award is given to an author or illustrator whose books have made a long-lasting contribution to fhe field of children's literature.

Margaret A. Edwards Award


Awarded for a noteworthy and enduring contribution to young adult literature, the Margaret A. Edwards Award is awarded to an author for a specific body of his/her work.  The award was also named after Margaret A. Edwards (aka Alex) from the Alex Awards.


Michael L. Printz Award


The Michael L. Printz award is given annually to books that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature.  This award was named after a librarian from the Topeka West High School in Topeka, Kansas, who was also a longtime active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA).

Mildred L. Batchelder Award


Named after the former director of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), the Mildred L. Batchelder Award is given to an American publisher who promotes communication by translating a specific children's book into English.

Pura Belpré Award


Named after the first Latina librarian from the New York Public Library, the Pura Belpré Award is awarded to a Latino or Latina writer and illustrator whose work best represents the Latino cultural experience in a work of literature for children.

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal


Named after Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc., the award is given to the most distinguished informational book published in English in the previous year for its noteworthy contribution to children’s literature.


Schneider Family Book Awards


This award honors an author or an illustrator for a book that epitomizes an artistic expression of the disability experience for both children and adolescents.  The award is named after Dr. Katherine Schneider, who worked with her father to develop the award. As a child, Schneider enjoyed the books she read in Braille, or that were read to her, and wished to expand the range of characters that were available for children to read about.

Stonewall Book Award


Sponsored by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT) of the American Library Association (ALA), the award is given to authors for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience.


Theodor Seuss Geisel Award


The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, named after the renowned “Dr. Seuss”, is given annually to the author and illustrator of the most notable contribution to beginning reader books.

William C. Morris Debut YA Award


This award honors a debut book by a first-time author writing for young adults.  William C. Morris was a 20th century American publisher who created an endowment, given to the American Library Association, to provide funding for programs, events, publications or awards that promoted children's literature.